The #SummerOfBaseball – No. 15 – Tampa Yankees @TampaYankees

tampa yankees


The 15th team in our #SummerOfBaseball series is coming to us from one of the Mets rivals. From deep in enemy territory, straight from George M. Steinbrenner field, the Tampa Yankees sent in a ball.

The Tampa Yankees are the Advanced Class-A affiliate of the New York Yankees and play in the Northern Division of the Florida State League. The team plays their home games at George M. Steinbrenner Field (formerly known as Legends Field) which is a mini replica of Yankee Stadium. The team was founded in 1994 and the Yankees are the only major league team with which the organization has been affiliated.

The team is led by Luis Sojo, who broke our hearts with the game winning RBI for the Yankees in the deciding game of 2000 Subway Series.

Notable former Tampa Yankees on their way to the big leagues include Derek Jeter, Mariano Rivera, Robinson Cano, David Robertson, Joba Chamberlain, Ian Kennedy, Mike Lowell, Nick Johnson, Dioner Navarro, Melky Cabrera, Phil Hughes, Tyler Clippard, Brett Gardner, Phil Coke, Francisco Cervelli, John Axford, Ivan Nova, and Dellin Betances.

Former New York Met Lee Mazzilli also managed the team in 1997 and 1998.

So thanks to the Tampa Yankees for sending in the ball and participating in the #SummerOfBaseball – give them a follow in twitter at @TampaYankees and check out the team website at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s