Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 63

Daniel Murphy looked around the dejected clubhouse after a disastrous loss in Atlanta. It seemed like everyone was booting the ball around and making mistakes.

“I told you I would haunt you,” Daniel heard a voice say.

Daniel spun around and frowned. “Stick it Larry. No one wants to hear from you.”

“You’ll never win here,” the Ghost of Larry said.

“I said be quiet, Larry.” Daniel said.

“Awww…” the Ghost of Larry said, “Look at poor little Daniel. Wittle Warry has upset him. What are you going to do about it? The Superhero hasn’t shown up in ages. Even the Superhero knows that this team can’t be saved.”

“Enough, Larry.”

“What are you going to do about it? Wave a towel at me?”

That’s it, Daniel thought to himself. This has gone on long enough. My team needs me.

Daniel looked to his left. Daniel looked to his right. When he saw that no one was looking, he reached into his gym bag and all the way at the bottom, he pulled out something that hadn’t seen the light of day in a long time. It was his Superhero costume. He quickly rushed down the hall into a spare closet and changed. Moments later, he was dashing back into the visitor’s locker room in his orange and blue superhero costume with the cape with the big number 28 flowing behind.

“Cheer up, everyone!” the Superhero shouted. “Do not let a loss get you down! We can still win this thing!”

“It’s the Superhero!” Jon Niese said. “Where in the world have you been?”

“I thought you could do it without me. But I realize now you need my help. Everyone… repeat after me! I believe that we will win! I believe that we will win! I believe that we will win!”

“Uh, Superhero,” Bartolo Colon said. “That’s a football chant. Or as you Americanos like to call it, soccer.”

“It doesn’t matter,” the Superhero said. “You guys score as much as a soccer team. Everyone, c’mon!”

It started quietly at first, but soon it began to grow. “I believe that we will win! I believe that we will win! I believe that we will win!”

As the team began to chant and chant, the Superhero smiled and quietly made his way off to change back into his civilian garb and join his teammates.

“Take that, Larry,” Daniel said to the Ghost of Larry as he came back into the clubhouse. “My work here is done.”

Leave a Reply

