Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 57

 

Daniel was sitting in the visitor’s clubhouse in Washington contemplating the events of the last week.  The team managed to fend off the Evil Empire with ease, but ran into an unexpected buzzsaw down in Miami.  Then there was the ninth inning meltdown of the prior evening.  Things just weren’t going right.  They were heading back in the wrong direction.

“And Ruben Tejada is hurt, to boot,” Daniel said to no one in particular.  “I miss my double play partner.”

“I’m sure he misses you, too,” a voice said behind Daniel.

Daniel looked behind him.  There was a masked man in a green outfit with a big letter “Q” on the front.  “Who are you?” he asked.

“I’m Q,” the masked man said.  “I’m here to help.”

“Q?” Daniel said.  “I haven’t heard of you before.”

“I get that a lot,” Q said.  “I’ve been protecting the people of Las Vegas these past couple of months.  But then I head that the superhero known as El Once was going to be out of commission for awhile, so I came to fill in his formidable shoes.”

“Oh,” Daniel said.

“I was wondering if you can help me,” Q said.

“I’m not sure if I can, but what do you need?” Daniel asked.

“I was looking for the Superhero,” Q said.  “Rumor has it you’re a good friend of his.”

“I know the Superhero,” Daniel said.  “He’s quite a quality fellow.”

“Then perhaps you can pass on a message,” Q said.  “When you see him, tell him that I’m not trying to replace El Once, but I’ll be glad to assist him in any way I can.”

“I’ll pass on the message,” Daniel said.  “He may need your help.  He’s been looking for the Capitol Clown, but he hasn’t seen him lately.  It’s just a matter of time before he shows up.”

“You won’t have to worry about him for now,” Q said.

“Why not?” Daniel asked.

Q gave Daniel a sly smile.  “I’ve already dealt with him.  He’s out of commission for a few weeks.”

Q gave Daniel a quick wink, and in a flash, he was gone.

“Something tells me I’ll be seeing more of him,” Daniel said. 

Leave a Reply

