Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 47

Daniel Murphy was in the Miami visitor’s clubhouse when he heard some surly grunting coming from the other end of the room.  When Daniel drew a little closer to investigate, he discovered Matt Harvey on his hands and knees, looking around on the floor.

“What in the world are you doing, Matt?” Daniel asked.

Now normally, Daniel would leave that day’s starting pitcher alone.  Daniel also knew that Matt, while perfectly pleasant and cordial the on the other four days of the week, was someone you would rather stay clear of on days when he was starting.  But Matt’s behavior was more than a little unusual.

“Grrr…” Matt said.  “I’m trying to find my fastball.”

“What?” Daniel said.

Matt Harvey turned and looked up and glared at Daniel.  “My fastball.  I lost it.  I had it around here somewhere.”  Matt turned away and continued scouring the floor.

“Um… okay…” Daniel said.  He knew he had to act quickly.  The game was only a few hours away, and he know that any starting pitcher is knocked off their regular schedule a few hours before a start, it could spell disaster.  He ran over to his locker and grabbed his gym bag.  With Matt busy on the other side of the room, Daniel didn’t even bother to leave.  He quickly reached into his bag and pulled out his orange and blue Superhero costume.  Seconds later, he was changed and was standing behind Matt.

“Did you lose something, Matt?” Daniel asked.

“I already told you…” Matt began, very obviously annoyed.  He turned to glare at Daniel and stopped.  “Oh,” he said.  “It’s you.  Sorry.”

Daniel was slightly disappointed Matt Harvey wasn’t a little more enthusiastic about seeing the Superhero.  After all, he only saved him from the clutches of the Capitol Clown.  But Daniel had no time for his own ego, he had  Superhero work to do.

“Is everything alright?” Daniel asked.

“It’s my stupid fastball.  I lost it somewhere.  I need to find it.”

“You lost your fastball?  How?”

“I had it in my locker,” Matt said.  “I turned my back for just a second, and then it was gone.  I need it.”

“You do realize that they use multiple balls during the game, right?”

“Yes,” Matt said.  “I know.  I’m not stupid, Superhero.”

Man, is he grouchy today, Daniel thought.

“Wait!” Matt all of a sudden said.  “There it is!  There’s my little Fastball!”

Matt reached out quickly and grabbed something on the floor.  Daniel all of a sudden heard a little squeak.

“Your fastball is a mouse?” Daniel said.

“It sure is!  My cute snuggly wuggly wittle Fastball!  How I missed you!”  Matt Harvey started rubbing noses with the furry little creature.

Daniel Murphy just walked away without saying a word.  Starting pitchers, especially really good ones, just need to be left alone.  And some things are better left unsaid.

Leave a Reply

