Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 37

Daniel Murphy was disappointed that the final game in Minnesota was snowed out.  He was also looking at the forecast, and the weather in Denver wasn’t looking too good, either.  As he was getting ready to get onto the bus to the airport to catch the team flight, he saw Terry Collins in the distance, talking to a figure that looked familiar.

“That can’t be…” Daniel said.

Daniel knew what he had to do.  He quickly ran back into the hotel lobby and to the bathroom.  His gym bag that he was going to use as his carry on had the item he was looking for.  At the bottom was his orange and blue Superhero costume.

“Terry Collins needs me,” Daniel said.  Within moments, he was changed and went running off to Terry’s rescue, the cape with the large number 28 on it trailing behind.

“And who are you again?” Terry asked the strange figure.  As Daniel got closer, he saw the figure had bright orange hair, a big honking red nose, and pointy red ears.

“I can’t believe you’re asking me that.  You’re in need of my services,” the figure said.

“Just because we were snowed out today and just because it’s going to snow in Denver there’s no reason for me to believe that you can raise the temperature and prevent it from snowing,” Terry said.

As Daniel got closer, he discovered that he was one hundred and fifty percent positive that he knew who it was.  “Halt right there, Heat Miser!” Daniel yelled as he came to Terry Collins aid.  “The only one allowed to go to one hundred and one on this team is Bobby Parnell!”

“The Superhero!” The Heat Miser said.

 

“What are you doing here?”

“I’m a huge baseball fan,” the Heat Miser said.  “Didn’t you know that?  Who do you think is responsible for the Dog Days of Summer?”

“I appreciate the sentiment, Mr. Miser.  But we can’t have you changing the weather,” Daniel said.

“Why not?”

“Global warming,” Daniel said.

“Global what?”

“Global warming.  It has something to do with the ozone layer and penguins and stuff like that.”

“I don’t know anything about ozone.  I know about strike zones,” the Heat Miser said.

“We’ll be just fine, Mr. Miser,” Daniel said.  “How about I get that fine young Doubles Hitting Machine Daniel Murphy to get you a pair of tickets during the next home stand?  I’m sure he appreciates a die-hard fan.”

“Daniel Murphy will get me some tickets?  Wow!  He’s my favorite player!”

“I’m sure he can hook you up,” Daniel said.  “He’s a close, personal friend of mine.”

“Do you think I can get his autograph?” the Heat Miser asked.

“I’m sure I can arrange that, too.  Now, if you’ll excuse Mr. Collins, I’m sure he has a plane to catch.”

“Okay,” the Heat Miser said.  “Good luck in Denver.  My brother told me he’s catching the series.  He’s a big baseball fan, too.”

“Thank you, Superhero,” Terry Collins said.

“No need to thank me,” Daniel said.  “I’m just glad to be able to help.

Before either the Heat Miser or Terry Collins could get a good look at him, the Superhero was gone.

Image

Leave a Reply

