Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 33

It was a big day for David Wright.  He was getting his face on a bus that was going to travel around New York City.    Then all of a sudden, it hit him.

“Oh no!” David said.  “I forgot to bring my suit to the stadium!  What am I going to do?”

Daniel Murphy was within earshot.  As always, he arrived at the ballpark very early, because that is what Future All-Stars do.

“My teammate needs me!” Daniel said.  He reached into his gym bag and pulled out his orange and blue Superhero costume.  He quickly changed and ran over to David Wright, the cape with the large number 28 trailing behind.

“What seems to be the problem, David?” Daniel asked.

“Superhero!  Am I ever glad to see you!  I completely forgot my suit at home and there’s a ribbon cutting ceremony in a few minutes!”

“Let me handle this!  I know exactly what to do!”

“You do?” David asked.

“Yes,” Daniel said.  “That’s what Superheroes do!”

In a flash, Daniel ran to Jay Horwitz’s office.  “Mr. Horwitz, David needs your help.  He forgot his suit.  I need to raid your secret stash.”

“How did you know about that?” Mr. Horwitz asked.

“Never mind that,” Daniel said.  “It’s needed.  It’s needed now.”

Jay Horwitz pushed the secret red button under his desk.  Moments later, the walls spun and Ralph the Elf appeared.  “You called me, Mr. Horwitz?”

“No time for chitchat, Ralph,” Mr. Horwitz said.  “We need a suit for David.”

“I see,” Ralph said.  “Good thing I happen to have one right here.”  Ralph reached inside the wall and pulled out an obviously expensive and well tailored suit.  Ralph handed it to Daniel who sped off.

“Here you go, David,” Daniel said, handing the suit to David.

“Hey!” David said.  “This looks just like the suit that disappeared from my closet last May!  I thought maybe Molly took it to the cleaners and never picked it up.  How did you get it?”

“Never mind, David.  No time for that.  Your public is waiting.  Time to get dressed.”

“Thank you, Superhero,” David said. “What would I ever have done without you?”

“No need to thank me,” Daniel said.  “I’m just glad to be able to help.”

With that, Daniel spun and left, before David could get a good look at him.

Image

Leave a Reply

