Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 30

The team was getting ready for their final spring training matchup before heading north to start the season.  Daniel Murphy was at the facility early so he could get in a quick workout before hopping the bus with the rest of the team for the game in Sarasota.  He found Ruben Tejada sitting at his locker, looking upset.

“What’s wrong, Ruben?” Daniel asked.

“I haven’t had my hitting stroke all spring.  I can’t hit a lick.”

“Uh oh,” Daniel said under his breath.  “My teammate needs me.”  He ran out of the room, quickly grabbing his gym bag from his locker.  In the hallway, he changed into his orange and blue Superhero costume and came running back, the cape with the large number 28 trailing behind.

“I heard you were upset about your hitting, young Ruben,” Daniel said.

“Um… Daniel,” Ruben said.

“I’m not Daniel,” Daniel said.  “Although I am flattered that you would confuse me with such a fine and handsome young man.”

“Uh.. Daniel.  I’m your sidekick.  You know…. El Once?”

“Oh.  That’s right.  Whoops.  My bad,” Daniel said.

“My hitting sucks this spring,” Ruben said.

“Who cares?” Daniel said.  “You didn’t have to worry about making the team this year.  You’re the starting shortstop.  You could have gone 0 for March and you’d still be starting.”

“I almost did go 0 for the month.”

“And you’ll be the starter come Monday.  And the day after that.  And the day after that.  It all resets come Monday.  As long as you don’t suck than, it’s all good.”

“You’re right, Daniel.  Thanks.”

“No need to thank me,” Daniel said.  “Just glad to be able to help.”

With that, Daniel turned and ran out of the room before Ruben could get a good luck at him.

“Uh… Daniel?” Ruben said, shaking his head and laughing.  “Never mind.”

Leave a Reply

