Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 27

Daniel Murphy was in the Port St. Lucie clubhouse when he came across Johan Santana.

“What’s up, Johan?” Daniel asked.

“I’m sad,” Johan said.  “Terry Collins told me I’m going to have to stay in Florida and rehab when the team goes north.”

“I see,” Daniel said.  “It will be okay.”

“How will it ever be okay?” Johan said.  “First I miss the World Baseball Classic.  Now I’m going to miss opening day.  Esto es terrible!”

“Wait right here, Johan,” Daniel said.  My teammate needs me, he thought.

Daniel ran off to his locker.  He looked to his left.  He looked to his right.  When he saw that the coast was clear, he grabbed his gym bag and pulled out his orange and blue Superhero costume.  Within moments, he was changed and ran back in the direction of Johan Santana, the cape with the large number 28 trailing behind.

“Superhero!” Johan said when he saw Daniel.

“It is I!” Daniel said.  “I heard you were sad about not going north with the team.”

“I am!” Johan said.

“You shouldn’t be,” Daniel said.

“Why not?” Johan said.

“Because it’s going to be cold in New York in April.”

“But I want to help my team!” Johan protested.

“Everyone knows that, Johan.  No one is questioning your desire or competitive drive.  But the best way you can help the team is to stay here and get healthy.”

“Even if I miss the beginning of the season?” Johan asked.

“While it isn’t fun being hurt, you may as well make the best of it.  And if you need to be anywhere, it may as well be warm and sunny Florida where you can rehab, sit by the pool, and collect a giant paycheck,” Daniel said.

“That doesn’t sound so bad,” Johan said.  “Gee, thanks Superhero!”

“Glad to be able to help!” Daniel said.  Before Johan could get a good look at him, he was gone.

Leave a Reply

