Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 22

Daniel Murphy was in the trainer’s room, getting treatment on his rib when David Wright arrived back in the clubhouse.

“How was New York?” Daniel asked, even though he already knew the answer.

“Intercostal strain,” David said.  “They say I’ll be out three to five days.”

“That sucks,” Daniel said.  “How are you feeling?”

“I’ll be okay.  The doctors told me to just not overdo anything for a little bit,” David said.

“How’d it happen?” Daniel asked.

“Well…. um…” David said, his face starting to get red.  “Well, you know how people started calling me by a new nickname during the World Baseball Classic?”

“Yes,” Daniel Murphy said.  “It was a superhero type name, right?”

“That’s right,” David Wright said.  “And you know how Jay Horwitz started dressing up as a superhero sidekick?”

“Uh, huh,” Daniel said.

“And you know how we’ve been having superheroes running around the clubhouse lately?  I heard a couple of them really saved Ike’s hide the other day…”

“David…” Daniel said.  “Don’t tell me…”

David hung his head.  “I know.  It started to get to my head.  I wanted to be a REAL superhero.”

“What did you do?” Daniel asked.

“I was on my way to the ballpark for the World Baseball Classic game when I came across this old woman wearing a Jimmy Rollins jersey.  She was pointing up to a tree and calling for help.”

Daniel’s heart sank.  He knew where this was going.

“So I started to climb the tree to help her get the cat.  When I tried to get it down, it hissed and swatted and flew right at me.  I lost my grip on the branch and fell.  I thought I just had the wind knocked out of me, but the next day my ribs were really sore.”

“What happened after that?” Daniel asked.

“The old lady got really nasty with me.  She said I scared her poor little Utley and that I should be ashamed of myself,” David said.  “Then she just left me there.  I swear that I saw that cat grinning at me as the two of them walked away.”

“Well David, I may not be a superhero,” Daniel said.  “But if I were, I’d tell you that not everybody’s perfect.  Even a Superhero makes a mistake from time to time.”

“I bet the Superhero never got fooled by a stupid cat,” David said sadly.

“Don’t be so surprised, my friend,” Daniel said.  “Don’t be so surprised.”

Leave a Reply

