Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 18

Daniel Murphy walked into the Port St. Lucie clubhouse.  He was yawning, having not slept well the night before after being haunted by the Ghost of Larry.  He was not the only player yawning.

“I didn’t sleep well last night,” Ike Davis said.  “I kept on dreaming I had Valley Fever and was hitting .140.”

“I didn’t sleep well, either,” Lucas Duda said.  “I dreamt Terry Collins called me into his office and told me I was going back to the minors.”

“I was dreaming that Jose Reyes re-signed before last year and I didn’t have a job,” Ruben Tejada said.

Daniel pulled Ruben aside.  “I was having bad dreams, too,” he told his Superhero partner.  “Did you see anything when you woke up?”

“No,” Ruben said.

“I did,” Daniel said.  “I know why everyone isn’t sleeping well.”

“Why?” Ruben asked.

“Larry’s back,” Daniel said.

“What?!?” Ruben said.

“It’s true.  The Ghost of Larry has returned.”

“But why would he want to haunt us?” Ruben said.  “He surely can’t be expecting us to contend this year!”

“I don’t know what his motivation is,” Daniel said.  “But maybe he thinks we pose more of a threat than all the sportswriters and bloggers do.  But he was there.  He even gave me the Tomahawk Chop!”

“Not the Tomahawk Chop!” Ruben said.  “This is serious.  What are we going to do?”

Daniel thought about it for a second.  “I have an idea!  Wait right here!”  Daniel ran out of the room, and within moments, he was changed into his orange and blue superhero costume.  He rushed back into the clubhouse with his cape with the large number 28 trailing behind.

“Good morning, everyone,” the Superhero said, getting everyone’s attention.  “It has come to my attention that some of you didn’t sleep too well last night.  Not to fret.  Do not let this hinder your performance on the field today or any other day!”

“But how are we supposed to do that?” said a player in the far corner of the room.  Daniel wasn’t able to make out who the player was.  “We’re not allowed to have greenies anymore!”

“I have a solution!” Daniel exclaimed.  “Gather around everybody!”  Daniel Murphy reached into his cape and pulled out a handfull of Dunkin Donuts gift cards.  He began to pass them around to the players.  “If you’re feeling tired in the morning, just get yourself a large cup of coffee!  It will help perk you up!”

“Thank you Superhero!”  Terry Collins said.  “Thank you for helping my team!”

“No need to thank me, Mr. Collins.  I’m just glad to be able to help.”  With that, Daniel Murphy turned and left the room, before anyone could get a good look at his face.

“Now that is a true hero,” Mike Baxter said.  “We’re lucky there are men like that in this world to protect us.”

Leave a Reply

