Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 16

Daniel Murphy spotted Kirk Nieuwenhuis limping around the Port St. Lucie clubhouse.
 
“I’m sorry about your knee, Kirk.” Daniel said.
 
“Thanks,” Kirk said.  “I don’t know if I’ll be ready for opening day.  I’ll have to wait and see what the doctors say.”
 
“I’m sure it will be all right,” Daniel said.
 
“I hope so,” Kirk said.  “This is supposed to be my breakout year.  It just has me feeling a little down.
 
Kirk’s depressed. Daniel thought.  My teammate needs me.
 
“Wait right here,” Daniel said.  He ran off, and in a flash he changed into his orange and blue superhero costume, the cape with the large number twenty-eight flowing behind.
 
“It’s the Superhero!” Kirk exclaimed when Daniel came back into the clubhouse.
 
“Fret not, young outfielder,” Daniel said.  “You can always come back from a knee injury.  That fine young man that plays second base hurt his knee a couple of seasons ago.”
 
“You mean Daniel Murphy?” Kirk asked.
 
“Yes!  Daniel Murphy,” Daniel said.  “He came back fine and continues to be a Pure Hitting Machine!  If he can do it, so can you! Just keep on telling yourself – I think I can!  I think I can!  I think I can!  Keep on doing that, and you surely will!”
 
“Thank you, Superhero!  What would I ever have done without you?”
 
“No need to thank me,” Daniel said.  “Just glad to be able to help.”  With that, Daniel turned and left before Kirk could get a good look at him.
Leave a Reply

