Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 11

Daniel Murphy and Ruben Tejada were all alone in the clubhouse.  The rest of the team was gone for the day, off to play golf or some other early spring training activity.  Daniel Murphy, as an up-and-coming-superstar-in-the-making often does, was staying late to get in some extra work – because that’s what Doubles Machines do.

“That was quite a shot you hit yesterday, Ruben,” Daniel said, complementing the slick fielding shortshop on his home run in yesterday’s game.

“Thank you,” Ruben said.  “Just working hard to do my best.”

“Keep on working like that, you’ll have a long career ahead of you,” Daniel said.

“Hey Daniel,” Ruben said.  “There’s been something I’ve been meaning to ask you.”

“Go right ahead,” Daniel said.

“I couldn’t help but notice that whenever the Superhero makes an appearance, you’re not around.”

“Are you sure?” Daniel asked hesitantly.

“Yes, I’m sure,” Ruben said.  “And I also couldn’t help but notice that he wears a 28 on his cape.”

“Really?”  Daniel said.  “I hadn’t noticed.”

“Are you the Superhero?” Ruben asked.

“Um….” Daniel said.  He didn’t know what to do.  He didn’t want to lie to Ruben, but he also didn’t want his top secret super identity revealed.

“It’s okay,” Ruben said.  “Because I was wondering, if you were, could I be your sidekick?  I want to be a Superhero, too.”

“You want to be a Superhero?” Daniel asked.

“Yes.  Growing up in Panama, I’ve dreamt of two things.  I wanted to be a Major League Baseball Player.  I also wanted to be a Superhero and to help people.  I want to use my powers for good.  And with the Capitol Clown on the lose, I thought you could use some help.”

“You want to be my sidekick?” Daniel asked.

“Yes,” Ruben said.  “We could be the Double Play Combination.”

“The Double Play Combination,” Daniel said.  “I like that.”  He thought about it for a minute.  “Meet me back here in the morning.  We will begin your training.”

Leave a Reply

