Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 9

Daniel Murphy saw the promotional schedule come out today and felt an incredible sadness come over him.  He didn’t have a bobblehead this season.

“What’s wrong, Daniel?” Ruben Tejada said as he walked into the clubhouse. “You look so sad.”

“Oh, nothing,” Daniel said.

“Something’s bothering you,” Ruben said.  “I can tell.  It’s okay.  You can tell me.”

“Well…” Daniel began.  “I feel so silly and selfish for being sad about it.”

“I think I know what you’re getting at,” Ruben said.  “I heard David hooping and hollering when he saw that he was getting another bobblehead this year.  You wanted one, didn’t you?”

Daniel Murphy lowered his head.  “Yeah,” he said sheepishly.  “I know it’s silly.”

“It’s not so silly,” Ruben said.  “I was hoping to get a bobblehead myself, but that didn’t happen.”

“It will,” Daniel said.  “Someday you’ll get a bobblehead of your own.”

“When I do,” Ruben said.  “I hope it looks like me.  I saw the one Ryan Braun is getting this year, it looks nothing like him.”

Daniel and Ruben laughed.  “Thanks for cheering me up, Ruben,” Daniel said.

“Anytime,” Ruben said.  “I don’t have to be a Superhero to cheer a teammate up.”  Ruben gave him a little wink.

As Ruben walked away, Daniel could only be left to wonder… “Does he know?”

Leave a Reply

