Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 5

Word was spreading through the Port St. Lucie clubhouse like wildfire.  PR guru Jay Horwitz had accidentally pocked dialed one of the team’s executives at 4:30 in the morning.

“Oh no!” Mr. Horwitz said.  “I hope I don’t lose my job over this!  This team is my life!”

“This sounds like a job for Superhero Murphy!” Daniel thought.  “Mr. Horwitz needs me!”

In a flash, Daniel changed into his blue and white superhero costume and ran off towards Mr. Horwitz’s office – his cape with the large number 28 on it trailing behind.

“Have no fear, Mr. Horwitz.  I can be of assistance.”

“Can you, Superhero?” Mr. Horwitz said.

“Yes, I can.  May I see your phone, please?” Daniel asked.

Mr. Horwitz handed Daniel his phone.

“Which number was it?” Daniel asked.  Mr. Horwitz pointed out which one it was.  Daniel cringed.  “Oh…” Daniel said. “That’s not good.  Whoops.”

Daniel looked at his watch, making sure it was now late enough to call back.  He dialed the number.  He held the phone back as he heard a very loud voice begin to yell on the other end of the line.

“No, sir.  This is not Mr. Horwitz.  This is the Superhero…. Yes… the same one who captured the minion of the Evil Empire… yes, sir… Thank you, sir…  Glad to be of service, sir… I was just calling to say that Mr. Horwitz is sorry he called you so early this morning.  It was an accident… No, sir, I can assure you it will not happen again…. Thank you, sir.  Have a good day.”

Daniel handed the phone back to Mr. Horwitz. “Your job is safe, Mr. Horwitz.”

“Thank you, Superhero!” Mr. Horwitz said.  “I don’t know what I would have done without you!  You are a true hero!”

“No need to thank me,” Daniel said.  “I’m just glad to be able to help.”

Before Mr. Horwitz could get a good look at Daniel’s face, he sped off.

“Thank you Superhero, whoever you are,” Mr. Horwitz said to himself.  “The world needs more people like you.”

Leave a Reply

