Daniel Murphy: Superhero – Episode 3

Daniel Murphy was in the Port St. Lucie clubhouse when he heard a cry of distress.

“That sounds like Lucas Duda!” he thought to himself.

In a flash, he changed into his blue and orange Superhero costume and ran off in the direction of the sound.  “My teammate needs me!” he thought.

When Daniel found Lucas, he saw the big man looking forlornly at the practice field. “What seems to be the problem, young slugger?”

“Just look,” Lucas said.  “It’s raining.  How am I supposed to get in my batting practice and show Terry Collins I deserve to be the opening day Left Fielder?  I don’t want to go back to the minors!”

“Now, now,” Superhero Murphy said.  “I’m sure there’s an indoor batting cage here somewhere where you can get in your swings.”

“There is,” Lucas Duda said.  “But Kirk Nieuwenhuis is already there.  He’s working on his swing, too!”

“I see,” Daniel said.  He thought about it for a moment.  “Why don’t you go down there and ask him if you can take turns in the cage?  I’m sure he’ll let you hit after him.”

Lucas Duda’s face brightened up.  “Do you think he will?”

“I’m sure he will if you ask him nicely,” said Daniel.  “Why don’t you give it a try?”

“I will!  I will!” Lucas said.  “Thank you, Superhero!   I don’t know what I ever would have done without you!”

“No need to thank me,” Daniel said.  “I’m just glad to be able to help.”

With that, Daniel Murphy took off before his teammate could get a good look at his face, his cape with the large number 28 on it trailing behind him.

Leave a Reply

